APPLIED ART: JEWELLERY

Almost the entire Rijksmuseum collection can be found in RijksStudio. Advanced searches, for example on 'jewellery' and period, are possible by filtering, or by filling in the advanced search form. It is also possible to create your own collections.

Under 'more object data' you can find more information about a specific object, such as

• the specific object number (essential for referring to the object)
• a persistent URL to the object in RijksStudio (important for referring to the source of the image)
• a description of the object, including dating, information about the maker
• the acquisition history
• copyrights
• if known: literature and documentation sources on the object.

All images from RijksStudio may be used for research and commercial purposes. Is there an error in the description? Is there any information missing, such as a reference to the literature? Please let us know!

By searching the catalogue for 'sieraden OR jewel* OR Schmuck' and filtering by collection catalogues, all collection catalogues in the field of Jewellery in museums worldwide can be found which are in the collection of the Rijksmuseum. Follow this link for the current list.

In addition to ARTSTOR, a commercial database with digital collections from 300 museums worldwide, the following is a list of museums that have extensive jewellery collections and offer good search facilities through their object documentation and images.

Keep up to date with interesting research stories, news and activities at Rijksmuseum Research Services via our blog.