The Rijksmuseum owns the most extensive academic art history library in the Netherlands. Since 1885, the library has pursued a constant, high-quality acquisition policy to generate the most complete collection possible, in line with the Rijksmuseum's collection profile. Due to its custodial function, the collection now comprises around 500.000 volumes, including around 60.000 auction catalogues, over 500 current journals and annual reports and almost 3.500 closed journals. Annualy this is supplemented with an average of 10.000 books, auction catalogues, and periodicals.
In the field of European art history, the library is very complete. Internationally, the library occupies a unique place, mainly due to its possession of important 19th-century (and older) files on Dutch arts and crafts and prints and drawings.
- The collection profile is in line with the Rijksmuseum's collecting areas. Its original focus is the history of painting, printmaking, drawing, crafts and sculpture of Western Europe from the Middle Ages to the early 20th century. A collection policy aimed at completeness is pursued in these areas.
- Other focuses are the history of photography, iconography, collection history (collection catalogues), Indian miniatures, Chinese painting and bronzes, Japanese prints and sculpture of South and Southeast Asia.
- Since the reorientation of the Rijksmuseum as a national museum for both art and history, Dutch history is also a collecting area. The emphasis is mainly on cultural history.
- Together with the Print Room, the Rijksmuseum Research Library is responsible for the collection of books with original prints. Photographically illustrated books are also managed jointly.
